Rolled Monk

Good Old Days!

In Paati sonna stories!, Singaara Chennai! on May 15, 2010 at 5:31 pm

Hello random reader,

I had to do a lot of soul-searching before putting this post up. This is from that era in my life when, I had no idea where to look at when I saw a girl. When, cigarettes and alcohol were sins beyond redemption. When, I still had complete faith in God. When, my knowledge of swear words in English was zilch. And when I used to eat a standard lunch of “rasam saadham or thayir saadham”. Before I wore braces for three long years (8th – 11th) and before or around the time of Osama Bin Laden’s claim to fame.

So yes, approximately, I am talking about the period from 1998 to 2002.  Of all the things that have shaped my future, I believe cartoons and cartoon network have made a lot of contributions  and if you have any problems with the way I have turned out, take it up with Hanna Barbera.

So yes, here’s a list of 7 of my favourite cartoons…And I am not going to include the action genre. So do not freak out if you don’t find Centurions or Swat Kats or Johnny Quest in this list. And also, after you finish reading, comment with your favourite cartoon character (not from anime please!)

7. The Smurfs :

To be honest, I have not come across many people who have seen this cartoon. My own sister, who I remember watching smurfs with me,  says she has forgotten the cartoon.

Smurfs!!

It is about a race of creatures called smurfs (duh!). They are minute sky-blue colored happy little things. Their names are pretty simple too. Papa smurf, smurfette (the babe in town), brainy smurf, jokey smurf…similar to their nature. The villain is an evil wizard called Gargamel, who wants to eat these poor little things. I cannot remember any other thing about these fellas. So if you do, feel free to enlighten me!

6. The Perils of Penelope Pitstop:

If a hot cute blonde in her cute pink car being chased around the globe by goons turns you on (not literally), well Penelope Pitstop is your one stop shop.

So yes, we have Penelope Pitstop, your typical higher class Blondie who has inherited a fortune after her parents’ death. There’s her guardian, Mr. Sylvester Keenly, who wants the money for himself. The rest is history…well not actually. It’s different.

The Perils Of Penelope Pitstop

Keenly has an alter ego called The Hooded Claw, a master of disguises, who is the antagonist. Throughout the series, Penelope does not know that her guardian and the Claw are the same people. She is very innocent but extremely agile and athletic, which when combined with the help of a few short guys and their talking cars (forgot the names), helps her deal with the Hooded Claw.

5. Johnny Bravo

Does Johnny Bravo even need an introduction. Johnny is claimed to be the male interpretation of a Dumb Blonde. An extremely narcissistic and stupid Johnny thinks that he was created by God to be ravished by women.

Johnny Bravo!!

His incongruous antics, killer attitude and his way with women have made me and millions of others laugh their hearts out. Now I was at an impressionable age when I saw Johnny Bravo, but thankfully my senses prevailed in the end. And nope, I cannot remember the names of the other characters here too. But if you are too insistent on knowing them, wiki them and find out yourself.

4. The Powerpuff Girls:

Sugar, Spice and everything nice…These were the ingredients professor Utonium (ROFL what an awesome name) chosen to make the best girls there ever was…and then Chemical X was added to the melange and Boom…Blossom Bubbles and Buttercup!!!

Powerpuff Girls + MOJO JOJO!!!

No, I do not like the Powerpuff girls for the Powerpuff girls at all. I mean, how many times have we seen people with super power kicking badass guys…Did I say guys?? Badass Monkey would be more like it. Yes, Mojo Jojo…Take a bow. He was my favourite villain of all time until The Dark Knight. Now that’s food for thought isn’t it Mojo Jojo + Joker (Nolan/Heath Ledger’s that is)… CHAOS!!!!

3. Dexter’s Lab :

Boy Genius. Einstein, Newton and all other greatest scientists combined. Child prodigy and what not? Dexter, one of the most brilliant characters on Cartoon Network, who gets his ass kicked all the time by… Dee Dee his supposedly dumb elder sister.

Dexter’s a bespectacled short f@#$ (for more info, visit http://manyuswall.wordpress.com/) and has a secret laboratory. But as fate would have it, Dee Dee finds out about this. She screws around with Dexter and that’s the crux of Dexter’s lab sorry, Dexter’s life.Dexter's Laaaaaaab!!!!

It is a completely fun cartoon and also, sometimes you can learn things from it. Another one of my favourite chilhood heroes (villains) was Mandark, Dexter’s arch nemesis, who loves Dee Dee! Yes, it couldn’t get more complicated.

2. Scooby Doo

Scooby Doobee TW(D)OOOOOOO and the gang were in for some tough competition with 2 other toons and somehow managed the second place. Yes, Scooby, Shaggy, Velma, Fred and Daphne…the best ghost-hunters or mystery solvers there ever was.

The Gang!!

Obviously, my favourite among them is Scooby and Shaggy. Velma too is in my good books. Fred and Daphne…hmm, I feel they are completely useless. Fred’s known for his “let’s split up gang” and Daphne for jumping on to Fred always when things are scary.  I am not going to get into details here because if you haven’t heard of Scooby Doo…words fail me…

1. First Place

So here we are finally, the much awaited and highly coveted position in my list. This was a very tough choice for me you see. There have been many cartoons that have inspired, annoyed, amused and entertained me. Choosing 7 out of them was an extremely tough and that’s why a lot of Soul Searching, if you remember.

It’s actually a surprise to me too, because I do not believe in theatrics and am a more get-to-the point kind of guy. So here it is… It’s a TIE between

TOM & JERRY ; THE ROADRUNNER SHOW

Kudos!!!

Both of them are very similar in the sense that they involve an animal hunting its natural prey and never ever succeeding. Another astonishing feature about these cartoons is I am not tired of them yet. I can watch them on and on for hours on end and laugh my heart out. So it really was a tougher decision for me to choose and what the hell, these are not the Oscars. So both get the honor. (and yeah road runner’s not Hanna Barbera…but its all the same)!!

I have written whatever I could remember here. For further information, Check out Wikipedia. And if you have read this, you better comment.

So till I write again…ciao ciao.


Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to MySpaceAdd to StumbleUponAdd to Twitter

  1. ROFL!!!… Jetsons, Flinstones, Johnny Bravo, Dexter, Popeye….those were the days…. 😀

  2. Well same first spot as yours Tom & Jerry, and maan thanks about “The perils of penelope pitstop” was one of the cartoons i saw as a kid, and had totally forgotten till about now. The rest almost the same list Dexters,Powerpuff and all, dunno but never liked Johhny Bravo, and have to add to the list one more great cartoon Popeye – The Sailor Man. Loved Jetson’s and the Adam’s Family ( I hope that is what they are called)

    • yup thts what they are called!! shucks forgot Adam’s Family :-/ and Popeye tho liked him, not such a big fan of spinach u cud say!!! Jetsons, Flinstones, all kinda family stories..loved them too!

  3. Adams family is by far the most twisted cartoon idea ever devised. I am deeply disappointed that u missed them in ur countdown to greatness. neways i m sure u did strike a few chords in my head thanx mamu.

  4. The ‘smurf’ language is still in use. Always use ‘smurf’ in place of any word possible. “I’ll smurf you, sonofabitch!” bang!!!
    NO Penelope Pitstop, but rest all! My great villain – Sheldon Plankton of Sponge Bob square pants.
    And Manyu, Popeye the sailor man po poo!
    I guess you missed chip and dale
    Its an awesome post macha! keep up your good work!

  5. All hail Him!! How can you forget HIM?

  6. bubbles spongebob and ren and stimpy!(how do you not seen these guys?)

Leave a Reply

