Rolled Monk

Powercuts, Writing and Confessions

In Singaara Chennai!, Uncategorized on July 14, 2010 at 12:41 am

Hello random reader,

While reading this post, please note that the words or sentences in italics have been added later on. The other normal words and sentences are completely true though they might not be heart-felt. I might be doing all this just because I have been out of ideas for quite some time now.

It has been a while now since I had written something. Writing – in the old way. With a pen and a paper. Man this feels good, even though my handwriting looks worse that it ever did, this feels good.

I suddenly had this urge to write today. You know there’s a scene in that movie, what’s its name? Sixth Sense. Haley Joel Osment is advised by the doc to write anything he wants on a piece of paper…anything…just let go…tune out and let his sub conscious do the talking.

Well, do you have any idea how tough it is to do it in practise? Ah! Practise. Is it practise or practice. The green-colored line that appears when you type in something wrong has made the spelling mistakes almost non-existent that I almost forgot how bad I was/am at spellings. Should do this more often.

I am also quite sure I am going to type this in my blog and publish it. With the spelling mistakes…for once…because it’s good to write. Extremely good.

And now back to 6th sense and how tough it is. It is tough in general but exceptionally tough in my case. Why? Because I do not write in my mother tounge (holy fuck…this I didn’t notice at that time or didn’t even strike me…tounge?? arrgh!). I think in Tamil, translate it and then write. So I am always conscious of what I write and there is no way my sub conscious is rising up all of a sudden (no pun intended).

My handwriting really sucks you know. Probably I should try writing more slowly. Today, the age when writing, typing, texting, smsing, chatting everything is used interchangeably, I am suddenly feeling guilty.

For abandoning writing? No. Trust me, I would have been happy had I felt guilty for that. The fact that I am writing this only because there is a power-cut and otherwise I would happily be engaged on the computer is what made me feel guilty.

And finally, because of this coincidence, the power arrives and I want to stop writing and switch on the computer. The feeling of guilt has vanished though for some strange reason, I feel contented.

The difference between this and typing is probably like the difference between making love and fucking.

I am smiling (I am smiling now too because I realize that I have no idea about the difference between making love and fucking…sounded reasonable and way cooler at the time of the current loss!) at how ridiculously sappy the previous line is. I mean I am supposed to be blogging this and I should have stopped writing already. I don’t even believe in love.

There! Hope that last line restores my sarcastic and cynical and dont-give-a-fuck image back a bit. (Now I hope that the initial italicised stuff adds to this and completely removes the sappiness.)

So till I WRITE again…ciao ciao.

Add to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to MySpaceAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

  1. *The difference between this and typing is probably like the difference between making love and fucking*

    I think : wow… thts some deep shit you thot ryt there

    *I am smiling (I am smiling now too because I realize that I have no idea about the difference between making love and fucking…sounded reasonable and way cooler at the time of the current loss!) at how ridiculously sappy the previous line is*

    Me : SOB!! you had me goin there for a moment….

    😛

  2. “couldn’t care less” generation, u hv written/blogged the ramblings of your mind. hope this gives u some respite from the heat…. of power cut.

Leave a Reply

