Rolled Monk

Art, Exams and Mummys Samayal!

In Kozhikode!, Peeterru!, Sappadu, isai mattrum pala! on November 22, 2010 at 11:47 pm

Hello random reader,

There is this “thing” going on in facebook now. This “thing” involves changing your display picture to a cartoon character that you loved when you were a kid. This brought back a lot of memories and helped me discover a part of myself which I thought I had successfully buried.

When I was a kid, I used to draw things. I used to suck at it but that didn’t stop me and to me, I was Picasso and Leonardo DaVinci in the making. Ok! I didn’t know these names back then but nonetheless, I had always envisioned myself an artist. And before you go “you should have pursued your dreams”, let me exactly tell you what I drew, how I drew and more importantly how it looked.

I drew cartoons. The easiest things to draw on this planet and I drew them by looking at them. I have very very poor observation skills and there was none of this conjuring an image out of memory and drawing it to my fancy. My works of art seemlessly merge with what is known today as modern-art if I try to draw from memory.

How did it look? Why don’t I show you! I drew these the other day when I was bored and yes…I am still as talented as I was on the day I stopped drawing (doing graphics 3 times hasn’t subdued me in the least). Picasso and DaVinci in the making!

FlinSTONED!

The best of the lot! Mr. Bravo

Jerry!

Dennis...i think!

Tom

Dexter with batman boots!

I’ve named the characters just in case they are deformed beyond recognition. So there you go! Oh and before I forget, my display picture for this “thing” on facebook that I mentioned earlier is Savita Bhabhi. (I know…I am so cool!)

Follow these rules for this post:

1. I am basically a very shy person. So never ever bring up my drawings or artistic capabilities in real life.

2.If you feel “these are not so bad…why are you so hard on yourself. I’d give anything to be able to draw like this”, do share your feelings…comment and spread the word. That is exactly why I’ve written this post.

3. Lastly, if your thoughts after seeing these are along the lines of “Impossible. this fucker could have never done this”, do share that too. There’s no higher praise you could give me. (I think of everything don’t I?)

And now, I got to run. Exam tomorrow and loads to study. This e-mail from my parents keeps flashing in front of my eyes:

HI ABBU, PL. FIND THE RECEIPT IN THE ATTACHMENT.

ADD ON BY DADDY: PLEASE STUDY WELL AND STAY FOCUSED IN LIFE.
DISCUSS WITH US THE CO YOU MAY SIT FOR PLACEMENT.
DONT END UP LIKE YOUR MUMMYS SAMAIYAL.
KEEP IN TOUCH
AVOID SMOKING AND DRINKING
Samayal means cooking! And for the record, mummys samayal isn’t that bad.
So till I write again…ciao ciao.
  1. Loved everyone of those and they are NOT AT ALL BAD. Seeing your dad’s add on i could figure out where the humour gene came from 😀 and all the best 🙂

  2. Except for Tom who looks slightly constipated,I’d have to say :“these are not so bad…why are you so hard on yourself. I’d give anything to be able to draw like this”

    Killer nick da. 😀

  3. I used to love doodling cartoons; still do actually!! Those are seriously not bad at all!!! Good post!

Leave a Reply

